Docentship lecture: Actio et Reactio – Material characterization of thin film solar cells

  • Date:
  • Location: Zoom, see link below.
  • Lecturer: Jan Keller
  • Organiser: Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Contact person: Jan Keller
  • Docentföreläsning

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering hereby invite all interested to a docentship lecture in subject Solar Cell Technology. Lecturer is Jan Keller.

In order to slow down and eventually stop climate change, a rapid rise in renewable energy production is mandatory. Consequently, photovoltaics will become an integral part of the future energy mix all around the globe. Apart from simultaneous progress in energy storage technologies, decreasing prices of PV-produced energy is key to accelerate the employment of solar modules. Possible ways to reduce the prize/kWh ratio are to i) increase the conversion efficiency and/or ii) decrease material consumption. This is the concept of so-called thin-film solar cells, which use only micrometre-thick layers (i.e. 100 times thinner than conventional Si devices) to absorb most of the sunlight. However, this down-scaling creates new challenges with respect to homogeneous, phase-pure film growth and interface engineering. Thus, an in-depth understanding of the involved materials and interfaces is of highest importance for further innovation and device improvement. This lecture will provide a brief overview of the most common, state-of-the-art methods applied for thin-film material characterization. It will focus on the interaction of photons and electrons with thin films, using the example of Cu(In,Ga)Se2 solar absorbers.                    

The lecture is an obligatory teaching test for those applying for admittance as docent and it should be possible for students and others with basic academic education in the relevant field to follow it. The lecture will last for 40-45 minutes and afterwards the audience may ask questions.

Language: The lecture will be given in English.

Location: Zoom. Zoom link to the lecture, Zoom ID:69763219155

Chairperson: Professor Charlotte Platzer-Björkman

Representative of the Docentship Committee: Professor Jan Isberg